Cupcakes, Tomatoes, and Time Management

I’ve been reading a lot about time management instead of actually managing my time (you know, by like, working on my thesis?), and I’ve found this thing called the Pomodoro Technique that I wanted to share. I came across it while reading up on thesis retreats, which is basically an excuse to go to an exotic location to “work on your thesis,” but that’s for another blog post.

Anyway, the Pomodoro Technique (named after Francesco Cirillo’s tomato-shaped kitchen timer) works like this:

1) You pick a task.
2) You set a timer for 25 minutes. (“They” like you to use a mechanical timer instead of a phone or a clock. Something about the physical act of winding the timer up.)
3) You work on the task until the timer goes off.
4) You take a five minute break. (Hello, Facebook.)
5) Repeat the process. For every four pomodori (or two hours), you get a 15-30 minute break.

cupcake

My timer

Since I never cook, my kitchen will not miss my cupcake kitchen timer. I plan to experiment with the Pomodoro Technique this Friday morning during my scheduled THESIS TIME! I’m putting it in all caps with an explanation point to trick my brain into getting excited.

I’ll let you know how it goes (the Pomodoro Technique and the brain-tricking).

This entry was posted in Time Management and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cupcakes, Tomatoes, and Time Management

  1. Pingback: My Pomodoro Experiment | Girl Meets Thesis

Leave a Reply

